Sent

Today we have a guest post from Olivia Giordano over at Liv For Him!

I glimpse where they dwell:
An empty, hollow shell.
Hidden behind lies,
And vacant, unseeing eyes,
Resides a heart too raw to be laid bare.
There’s no one left to care.

This whisper I hear,
“Do not fear.
“For this I have called you.
“To speak what is true.”
Sent as a messenger of the light.
Despicably flawed, I have no right.

They seek a purpose
In a struggle so meaningless.
Unending, worthless striving.
While slowly dying.
Afraid to take a step, falteringly,
Towards vulnerability.

Peering, I stare inside.
Into their facade of lies.
Weak hands have I to serve.
To care and love the hurt.
Shame burns deep;
Tucked away, they’re afraid to weep.

Life is not Instagram-worthy.
Perfection is only the surface story.
Neither do I deserve,
This life I have to serve.
For God I shine as a beacon
Though daily I weaken.

I long for the world to see
These broken shards are a part of me.
What cuts the deepest
Serves a greater purpose.
I fix my wavering trust
On Christ, for he alone is just.

If my weakness bring him glory,
I will persist in sharing his story.
These dark threads have a purpose,
He’s weaving splendor beneath the surface.
Once again, the warmth of spring,
He will, heralding bring.

For the everlasting King
These wearied hands will bring
News to those in chains.
There is freedom beyond this pain.
Yes, they have scars.
Broken hearts.

Until all have heard, I will cry!
We have nothing to hide;
For in this unending conflict,
Not one of us is perfect
Except the Holy One.
The Son of God, the risen Sun.

He poured out his life to set men free.
Opening blind eyes, proclaiming liberty.
Clothed in his righteousness,
We are freed from chains of darkness.
The greatest deed in history,
Accomplished. Yahweh has the victory.

Our lives no longer our own,
No longer groping in the dark, no longer alone.
I am flawed,
But yet, I am called.
Why he would choose a wretch like me is a mystery,
But I will serve him to my best ability.

His Word. Behold.
The greatest story ever told.
The Maker of the universe,
Frees us from sin’s curse.
Rescued from darkness,
In Him we find forgiveness.



Olivia Giordano is a sixteen-year-old lover of chocolate and all things blue. She loves writing in every spare moment. Her current interests include trying to become fluent in Spanish, sharpening her piano skills, and learning everything she can about hairdressing by practicing on her waist-length hair. She is considering becoming a midwife someday. She is a practical ISFJ. Her desire is to live for the King. She also blogs regularly at livforhim.wordpress.com.

Published by Jason Zimmerman

Jason Zimmerman is a 18-year-old passionate about serving God through writing and drama. He loves embarking in God-honoring relationships with both believers and non-believers. He wants to let go of all of himself, so that he can have all of God, and follow Him through all the ups and downs of lives. To obey with his whole heart, knowing it is the Lord’s faithfulness that ultimately fuels His obedience. He can’t wait for all things to be made new at Christ’s return.

3 thoughts on “Sent

  1. Beautiful poem and so very true! We are so unworthy and yet God calls us His own! So very blessed to be living my life for Christ! I cling to Christ, and thank him for his grace everyday!

    Like

  2. It was a great poem to read
    It met an unspoken need
    I trust all will concur
    We must follow our loving Saviour

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started